Email usFacebookInstagramYouTube
A A APrint Page

Circular Head shines on Australia Day

26 January 2013

Circular Head Mayor Daryl Quillam today announced the winners of the Australia Day Citizen, Young Citizen and Community Event of the Year awards.

The winners are as follows:

  • Circular Head Australia Day Citizen of the Year 2013, Mary (Molly) Spinks
  • Circular Head Australia Day Young Citizen of the Year 2013, Tom Hite
  • Circular Head Australia Day Community Event of the Year 2013, the Bawdy Banquet.

“Molly Spinks is a well known identity in the Irishtown community, who despite having never driven a car, has managed to serve many thousands of hours to the area for many years,” Mayor Quilliam said.

“Ms Spinks is a life member of the Irishtown Football Club, Irishtown Football Club Ladies Committee, the Irishtown Community Centre Committee and was a member of the Irishtown Hockey Team immortalised in the Circular Head Hall of Fame for their win in the 1966 State Final.

“Mrs Spinks is also well known for her dancing skills, many of which she has passed on to others through her popular classes.

“From cleaning duties to maintaining the garden beds at the Irishtown Recreation Ground, Mrs Spinks has been instrumental to the club for many years; indeed in one of the two nominations received for Mrs Spinks she is acknowledged also for her stamina in the kitchen, which to quote the nominator ‘leaves many younger volunteers amazed’.”

Mayor Quilliam said Mrs Spinks was also instrumental in Irishtown taking out a category award in a Tidy Towns award in 1998.

“As one of the nominations stated, the real achievement is to see the area Mrs Spinks established still well maintained, with Mrs Spinks the mainstay of this maintenance work,” Mayor Quilliam said.

“Furthermore the nomination was fitting in that it said Mrs Spinks was ‘one of Irishtown’s secret weapons, the go to person and an unsung heroine who always prefers to be a behind the scenes supporter of her many and varied interests’.”

Mayor Quilliam said Tom Hite had been nominated for his work helping to coach and train soccer to Smithton Primary School pupils.

“Tom readily makes himself available to the school to assist in not only the training of soccer to the students, but also does so in an unassuming manner resisting any accolades,” Mayor Quilliam said.

“Tom is not only recognised for his ability to teach the students valuable lessons in team spirit and sportsmanship, but also for his strength of character and maturity.”

Mayor Quilliam said the Australia Day Community Event of the Year 2013, the Bawdy Banquet October November 2012.

“As not all members could be here today, I was fortunate enough to announce the win to the group at the Twilight on the Duck Cocktail Party on Thursday night (24 January),” Mayor Quilliam said.

“The Bawdy Banquet has been going for thirty years and was initiated by Kim Kay and Deb Mainwaring,” Mayor Quilliam said.

“The Bawdy Banquet was created to raise funds for the Saints Football team and made up of local talented members,

“The group first performed to an audience of 110 people and as their popularity grew they moved to the Irishtown Community Centre performing eight shows over four weekends to a capacity audience of more than 230 people.

“During this time they have donated over half a million dollars to local charities including the Irishtown and Saints football clubs, Smithton Hockey Club turf, Irishtown Community Centre, Emmerton Park, Circular Head Bosom Buddies, Relay for Life, Circular Head Community and Recreation Centre, Stanley Town Hall and Soroptomist International Circular Head.”

Mayor Quilliam said the performers and those behind the scenes were to be congratulated for their many hours dedicated to entertaining while raising much needed funds.

“Particular credit should be given to Gerald Kay, Kim Kay, Peter Kay, Keith Billing, Deb Mainwaring, David Buchanan, Bevan Anderson, Brian Close, Annette Dawes, Patricia O’Halloran, Jeff Power, Owen Wragg, Jason Williams and Joe O’Halloran.”

Mayor Quilliam thanked the winners and those who took time to nominate.