Email usFacebookInstagramYouTube
A A APrint Page

Farewell and welcome - Local Government Elections

1 November 2011

Circular Head Mayor Daryl Quilliam has wished farewell to departing Councillors, while welcoming new members to Council following Local Government Elections.

"Firstly I would like to thank departing Councillors Timothy (TJ) Berechree, Graham Wells and Heather Grey," Mayor Quilliam said.

"All three Councillors have made a fantastic contribution to Council during their time.

"Councillor Berechree, who retired from his role on Council, took an active role in youth activities, while Councillor Wells helped lift the profile of the arts, cultural events and tourism in Circular Head and will be remembered on Council for his particular passion for Stanley.

"Councillor Grey was also a strong advocate for Marrawah and was always supportive of Council staff and events.

"I'm sure their involvement in these areas will continue in their lives outside Council."

Cr Berechree was first elected in 2005, Cr Grey in 2007 and Cr Wells in 2000.

"I now take this opportunity to welcome new Councillors Jan Bishop, Ashley Popowski and Betty Kay as well as returning Councillors John Oldaker and Trevor Spinks," Mayor Quilliam said.

"I thank Councillor Spinks for his role also as Deputy Mayor and now welcome Councillor Oldaker to the role.

"Together we as a Council will continue to work for the Circular Head community on a range of initiatives into the future."